Press "Enter" to skip to content

Epetedo declaration 27th anniversary to hold June 11

By Robert Egbe

Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo will deliver a keynote address at the 27th anniversary of the Epetedo declaration by the late Moshood Kashimawo Olawale (MKO) Abiola, the organisers have said.

Chief Abiola, recognised winner of the June 12, 1993 presidential election, declared himself the president, at Epetedo, in the heart of Lagos, on June 11, 1994, after waiting a year for his mandate to be restored.

His defiance of the military junta, which later annulled the poll, led to Abiola’s arrest and subsequent death in detention.

The Coalition for a Better Nigeria, which is organising the anniversary event, said in a statement that preparation is underway to mark the day on June 11, at the old Epetedo Hall, (now Eleganza Sports Centre), Lagos Island, at 11am.

The event’s theme, ‘2023 general election: how to avoid a repeat of 1983 and 1993 post-election violence’, will be discussed by Senate President Ahmed Lawan; House of Representatives Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila; governors of Kano, Ebonyi, Imo and Cross River: Abdullahi Ganduje, David Nweze Umahi, Hope Uzodinma and Benedict Ayade.

Others are the Chairman, National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA), Buba Marwa and Senator Biyi Durojaiye, Acting Leader, Afenifere Egbe Ilosiwaju Yoruba.

“Special guest of honour is Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the National Leader, All Progressives Congress (APC), while the guests of honour are Southwest governors of Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ekiti and Ondo states,” the statement said.

Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, it added, is host governor, while the principal host is Speaker, Lagos State House of Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa, among other participants.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *