Press "Enter" to skip to content

Gusau’s AFN electoral committee declares Kebbi ready for polls


While the Olamide George faction of the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) is preparing for tomorrow’s elections into the board of the federation, the other group led by Ibrahim Gusau yesterday said it is for the 2021 elective congress in Kebbi State.

According to a statement by the federation, the Electoral Committee Chairman, Prince Jambright B.T Sumanu, yesterday said last minute preparations were in top gear.

Sumanu described the election as significant in so many ways, saying it would not just unite the athletics family once again, but would herald the dawn of a new era in the internal workings of the federation where the constitution trumps individuals or sentiments.

“All eyes are now on the AFN elections. Everybody is looking up to us for justice. With these reputable members of this committee, we are ready to do our best.”

Speaking on the electoral guidelines, Prince Jambright B.T Sumanu said the committee expected a full compliance in line with international standards.

He added: “We expect that interested candidates must come with nomination forms from their zones, while also meeting up with World Athletics guidelines as well spelt out in the constitution of the AFN.”

He advised interested candidates with documented history of drug abuse, doping or convictions to stay away from the polls, while assuring a level-playing ground for all candidates “with an option of an appeal for any contestant who is aggrieved or not satisfied with the outcome of the screening, election conduct or result.”

“There is an electoral body in charge of appeal cases and we have legal officers who are on ground to handle their grievances.

“Due to the peculiarity of this electoral congress, the election will be safer and authentic than what we have had in the past because we are expecting people to submit their forms of intent to contest till midnight (Saturday, June 12)”, the committee chairman stated.

“After that, we will download forms that were submitted online and collate with those who have submitted hard copies.”

Members of the Electoral Committee are Prince Jambright B.Sumanu (chairman), Mohammed Surajo Aliyu (vice chairman), Alozie Emmanuel (member), C. J. Nwogu (member), while AFN Director General, Siminialayi Pepple, is the secretary.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *