How To Watch Monogatari Series? Watch Order & Fillers

Monogatari is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Nisio Isin. The story revolves around Koyomi Araragi, a final high schooler who manages to survive a vampire strike and finds himself assisting girls who are engaged with hauntings, deities, spirits, monsters, supernatural beings, and other unexplainable occurrences, which frequently serve as intermediaries for their emotional and psychological challenges.

Kodansha authored 28 volumes in the series under its Kodansha Box impression between November 2006 and August 2021. The headline suffix -Monogatari is shared by all of the series’ storylines.

The manga series was ranked 6th in Takarajimasha’s 2009 volume of the light novel handbook. This Light Novel is Amazing! It subsequently went on to come in second in both the 2010 and 2017 issues, with the latter in the tankbon category. The series came in third place in the tankbon category in the 2019 issue.

The top ten light novels of the previous few years were disclosed in the 2020 issue. And the collection was ranked tenth.

How To Watch Monogatari Series? Watch Order, Fillers and Episode List

Main cast of Monogatari

Also read: My Hero Academia Vigilantes Chapter 110: Release Date, Spoilers & Preview

Monogatari watch order

If you’re one of those who says, “I fully support the author, and I’ll watch this series in the sequence it’s released,”  then this list is for you. Those who have been watching the show since 2009 have taken this path, which is reasonable.

Also, even after the show has aired, this is usually the best choice. As well, for those unfamiliar with the series, watching Monogatari with release orders is simple. Without wasting any more, time let’s dig right into the order you can watch Monogatari in.


In April 2008, an anime remake of Bakemonogatari was declared. The first episode aired on 3rd July 2009, and the last episode on 25th September 2009. The series had a total of 15 episodes. Shaft animated the series, and Akiyuki Shinbo directed it.

How To Watch Monogatari Series? Watch Order, Fillers and Episode List

A still from Bakemonogatari


From January 8 to March 18, 2012, an anime adoption of Nisemonogatari was broadcasted. Created by the same team as Bakemonogatari, but now with Tomoyuki Itamura substituting Tatsuya Oishi as director of the production. The series contained 11 episodes. The first episode aired on 8th January 2012, while the last episode aired on 18th March 2012.

Nekomonogatari Kuro

It tries to adapt the first of the two-part Nekomonogatari light book series, as well as the fourth part of the overall sequence. It is the series’ first independent, single-arc, single-book modification, which means it is a short series with a single arc and a limited number of episodes launched all at once. This layout was subsequently used for the anime adaptations of Hanamonogatari and Tsukimonogatari. It has a total of just 4 episodes and all for episodes released on 31st December 2012.

Monogatari Series Second Season

The series has a total of 26 episodes. However, 3 of those episodes are recaps and highlights of previous seasons. So in actuality, the series has only 23 episodes. The first episode aired on 6th July 2013, and the last episode aired on 28th December 2013.

Also read: Attack On Titan Watch Order: How To Stream The Anime In English Sub?


Here’s another mini-series just like Nekomonogatari Kuro. It has a total of only 5 episodes. All 5 episodes of the series were released on the same day. The series was adapted from the manga of the same name. It was released on 16th August 2014.


Just as Hanamonogatari and Nekomonogatari Kuro, Tsukimonogatari was also made as a mini-series. The series has a total of 4 episodes and was directed by Tomoyuki Itamura and Akiyuki Shinbo. All four episodes were released on 31st December 2014.


Owarimonogatari is Production company Shaft’s seventh Monogatari Series Japanese animation adaptation. The first 13 episodes of the show premiered in 2015, with the final seven episodes airing two years later in 2017. The show has a total of 20 episodes. The first episode aired on 3rd October 2015 and the thirteenth episode aired on 19th December 2015. The last seven episodes aired on 12th and 13th August 2017 and were released as a two-day special.


Koyomimonogatari has a total of 12 episodes. The first episode was released on 10th January 2016 and the last episode aired on 27th March 2016.

Zoku Owarimonogatari

Zoku Owarimonogatari has only 6 episodes altogether. The first episode was released on 18th May 2019, and the last episode was aired on 22nd June 2019.

Also read: Watch Order Of Beyblade – Anime & Movies


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *